Plant Swap

Go Back   Plant Swap > Regional > Gardening in the South > Texas

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-04-2008, 02:46 PM
Flower

I'm in Central Texas. Nice to meet you all.
Old 09-04-2008, 06:07 PM
Esteemed Nut

Hello Dean, I hear you have Bamboo. How good is your soil where you are, or where the Bamboo is. Does it get by with minimal watering because I am not good at that. I would LIKE to have bamboo. I don't know much about bamboo. I had a gorgeous bank of 20 ' stuff that you see all over in the center of Austin. Where I am now is at 1390 feet and it is high and dry on a lot of fast draining virgin Cr#p. I am not sure Bamboo is for me even though I lust after it. I don't even know my varieties. Maybe I should look for something I could grow in a large container. What are your thoughts.
Old 09-04-2008, 06:25 PM
Flower

Originally Posted by marasri View Post:
Hello Dean, I hear you have Bamboo. How good is your soil where you are, or where the Bamboo is. Does it get by with minimal watering because I am not good at that. I would LIKE to have bamboo. I don't know much about bamboo. I had a gorgeous bank of 20 ' stuff that you see all over in the center of Austin. Where I am now is at 1390 feet and it is high and dry on a lot of fast draining virgin Cr#p. I am not sure Bamboo is for me even though I lust after it. I don't even know my varieties. Maybe I should look for something I could grow in a large container. What are your thoughts.
Hi marasri,

Yes, I have some bamboo. My soil can be pretty rocky and chalky. I am familar with the Dripping Springs area and I know what you deal with. Yes, there are certain types that can get by with minumal watering.