Plant Swap

Go Back   Plant Swap > Regional > Gardening in the Midwest > Iowa

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-09-2010, 08:34 AM
Sprout

SmileAnyone From Iowa?

I live about 40 miles SE of Sioux City, and I am so excited that this rain and warmer weather are finally getting rid of the snow here! Yesterday, I was at our post office, in town, and the daffodills were about 2 1/2" high! Finally, some signs of life here! Just wondering if anyone else lived in Iowa or around here. The Garden Club I belong to meets for the first time this season, in just a few weeks (we've all had cabin fever), so I'm really excited about that. Also, if you do live near enough, I know lots of people who are continually changing their beds and thinning them, so if you're in need of hostas or Iris's, I could help you find some. I'm just getting started on my yard, we've moved into the house my husband grew up in, and his mom didn't do plants, so last summer, we ripped out the evergreen boxes she had, and began with new stuff. We're just doing a little at a time, as our budget permits.

Thanks,
Jillian
Old 03-14-2010, 12:48 PM
Tree

Jnortner,

Hi! I am from Iowa. I was born in Des Moines, and grew up in Newton, just east of DM on interstate 80. After college, I went out into 'the world' and never made it back to live. But I still go for visits, once or twice a year, to visit my mom in Newton, and my oldest brother and his family in DM.

I now live in Miami, FL.

For me, Iowa will always be 'home'. I don't miss the cold winters, but I sure do miss the changes of seasons. For the past several years, my mom has come to Miami for a couple of months during the winter.

I am hoping to take my 3 month old baby girl to Iowa over the summer sometime, for another extended visit to her grandma.

I always love running into people from Iowa on the forum. Laura 13617 is from Iowa.
Old 08-11-2013, 01:13 PM
Flowering Shrub

Talkinganyone from iowa