Plant Swap

Go Back   Plant Swap > Garden Talk > Indoor Plants

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-08-2015, 06:30 PM
Acorn

Elephant ear plant in San Diego. Doable?

A couple of months ago I walked into my local garden center and found the most awesome plant I have ever seen. Elephant ear. It's bold. It's attractive. And I love big leaves.

The problem is I am still fairly new to plants, and the plant was 40 dollars. But I wonder if I can grow my own in a pot. It would go perfect right outside my door. Does anyone have experience with these in pots? I live in the San diego area. The summers get super hot, and the winters are mild. How difficult is it to care for elephant ear?
Old 08-08-2015, 10:33 PM
Sprout

I say go for it! But you could try a more affordable option like trying to find some bulbs. Then you will get the experience of growing them. It would be a bummer to lose a $40 one.
Mine grow in a partially sunny location in my front garden with no special care. My sister has hers growing in a big planter. I think they do well either way. And there are lots of different kinds you can collect!
Old 08-09-2015, 06:19 AM
Super Moderator

I have elephant ears in Alabama zone 8...and they do great outside..the winter time they will dye down but no worries because they always pop back out in summer and multiply like crazy..(which is good) I started with one bulb and now have a yard full..even after the ones I have shared with many. I would check your zone for elephant ears.
I'm sure you will love these as much as I do! Your plant should have had information telling how to care for it! Blessings

http://www.elephantearsplants.com/el...arsgrowing.htm
This site tells they are hard to 40 degrees , but we get down lowers and they still pop back out in summer.. If you are not sure. you can always cover for that extra protection during cold spells!

"Even if sin did come into the world through a woman....so did the Saviour!"