LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-28-2014, 06:09 PM
Tree

Send a message via Yahoo to LetItGrow
You must have 10' high ceilings then.

Does your papaya need to be pollinated?
Old 10-28-2014, 06:16 PM
Flowering Shrub

Wiz, thank you for the specifics. I love reading that kind of stuff. I'm always curious as to what people are using.
This is my first year with actual grow lights. I'm not doing anything like you or The Hollyberry Lady. I mostly am using mine to keep my cacti happy through the winter and to start random seeds. I have 2 sets of shop lights with one wide spectrum bulb and one bright white bulb in each fixture. My plants are 12 inches or less from the bulbs.
So far it's worked really well. I'm sprouting 3 kinds of cactus seeds,and a nasturtium seed. I'm also rooting a bunch of houseplants. It's so great. I'm mad that I didn't start using grow lights years ago.
Old 10-28-2014, 06:34 PM
Blossom

Originally Posted by LetItGrow View Post:
You must have 10' high ceilings then.

Does your papaya need to be pollinated?

Of course there will be pruning done LIG lol. I dont live in a dream house hahaha! But I just measured and they are 10' lol

I have 30 papayas just for that purpose. Some will be males, female and both sex (self pollinating). So I will come up good either way. Its always good to have both sexes because then you can cross the plants and make your own hybrid, depending on what traits your looking for

Originally Posted by pinkham View Post:
Wiz, thank you for the specifics. I love reading that kind of stuff. I'm always curious as to what people are using.
This is my first year with actual grow lights. I'm not doing anything like you or The Hollyberry Lady. I mostly am using mine to keep my cacti happy through the winter and to start random seeds. I have 2 sets of shop lights with one wide spectrum bulb and one bright white bulb in each fixture. My plants are 12 inches or less from the bulbs.