Plant Swap

Go Back   Plant Swap > Garden Talk > Pests

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-04-2013, 08:42 PM
Flowering Shrub

ExclamationHelp.....Fire Ants!

I started out by yelling Help....then I remembered how they say if you need help fast just yell FIRE!
I have been composting for several years, with great success, in a large covered container that has holes drilled in it for drainage & air circulation. I only put things like grass clippings, veggy & fruit peelings, egg shells, coffee grounds, & etc. I keep it turned & usually have great composted soil pretty fast. Here's the problem.....Living in TEXAS, we deal everyday with the dreaded FIRE ANTS! They have discovered my compost bin & there must be millions of them in it! What can I do? Any ideas?

Last edited by trumpetvine; 04-04-2013 at 08:44 PM..
Old 04-04-2013, 09:07 PM
Tree

Trying drowning them out with left over coffee,

I compost also but havent noticed ants. I dont have a container, just a huge pile if leaves/grass clippings, and veggie /egg shells also. We just dig a huge hole and dump the veggie/egg shells and coffee grounds in, we havent yet gotten dirt. If we turned it occassionly it would turn into dirt faster.

I say drown them bc @ work on one of our sidewalks is (was), a huge annoying ant pile. Nothing was ever done to get rid of them, so I started dumping my left over coffee on them each morning I have been doing this so far for a few months, I kinda just toss it on their pile, like I am bowling a strike and today I noticed they are pretty much gone.
Good luck getting rid of them.
Old 04-04-2013, 09:10 PM
Flower Garden