Plant Swap

Go Back   Plant Swap > Regional > Gardening in the South > Georgia

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-17-2010, 05:39 PM
Flower Garden

I'm pushing spring to the limit --I bet we all are

Say, my greenhouse stays above 40 degrees at night, anybody have an opinion of whether it's safe to go ahead and pot up my plants and care for them there until April or so? I get great light all day long. But since this is my first year, I'm a little wobbly about it.

I watered everything in the GH well the other day to bring everything out of dormancy and I'm seeing all sorts of little hints of green at the base of the stems of 3 different kinds of hydrangeas, my hosta is plumping up, and I hope to see canna leaves peek out anytime soon. I had wintered over some Queen Anne's Lace in the GH, much of the time with no heat, and it's just growing it's little heart out.

Today--can anybody tell I'm feeling better FINALLY--I jugged up potting mix and watered it so I can winter sow some seeds tomorrow or the next day. I'm working on a system to winter sow dozens of little tiny pots of stuff in big, but shallow almost-clear plastic storage tubs. I read about it on a blog site and it sounds just so uncomplicated I can't not try it. Now I just have to decide which of the many seeds to select for this little project. And then I'm not sure what I'll do with it when it matures since I have such a small yard. I think I'm going to tackle my sister's 20 acres, or at least a little corner of it.
Old 02-17-2010, 06:59 PM
Bush

Originally Posted by BarefootGardener View Post:
Say, my greenhouse stays above 40 degrees at night, anybody have an opinion of whether it's safe to go ahead and pot up my plants and care for them there until April or so?