Plant Swap

Go Back   Plant Swap > Garden Talk > Plant and Seed Exchange

Closed Thread

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-02-2007, 01:36 PM
Acorn

Send a message via Yahoo to jocelynavon

How do you send plants by mail safely?

Hello everyone. I am new to plant swapping and very happy to be here. I understand that shipping a plant priority is the quickest way. My question is how would I package a partially developed plant correctly? Wouldn't the plant dry out?
Old 06-02-2007, 06:35 PM
PlantSwap Supporter

I've done a lot of plant mailing over the years with much success. It all depends on the plant you are sending to be honest. There isn't one way that fits all, so let me know what you are intending to mail and I can help with some more specific advice.
Old 06-03-2007, 12:29 AM
PlantSwap Site Founder

Bob, if you'd care to write up some handy tips for different situations, we could sticky it to the top of the forum. I think this a prime candidate for a FAQ.
Old 06-03-2007, 09:06 AM
PlantSwap Supporter

Tips for Mailing Plants

Bernard - you may wish to make this a permanent FAQ

Tips for Mailing Plants:
  • Do not mail plants to California or Hawaii because of strictly enforced state laws prohibiting importation of plant materials into these states. Most countries restrict or prohibit importation of plants from other countries as well. Check postal regulations for further information before mailing.
  • Mail plants bare root if possible to minimize spread of soil born diseases. Make sure plants being mailed are healthy, free of insect or disease problems.
  • Package plants firmly to avoid damage from crushing enroute. Chosing the right sized and shaped box is important.
  • Use lightweight packing materials, e.g. newspaper,. noodles, bubble wrap, plastic grocery bags, to lighten shipping weight.but secure contents.